Premium Brand Guide

Which Theragun Should You Buy? Mini, Prime, Relief and Pro Plus Compared (2026)

Which Theragun should you buy? Theragun built the percussion-massager category’s premium tier, and its current lineup is genuinely confusing from the outside: three-plus models whose names say nothing about who they fit. This research guide decodes the range from Therabody’s published specs and precautions, with honest trade-offs, and includes the paragraph most Theragun guides omit: when a simpler gun from our massage gun roundup is the smarter purchase.

A modern handheld massage device photographed against a plain background
Affiliate disclosure: AmericaLifts is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our rankings — we pick the equipment first, then add the links. Full disclosure.

Which Theragun to buy depends on where you will use it and how hard you want it to hit. This is a research guide for anyone choosing between the Theragun Mini, Prime, Relief and PRO Plus: the specs below come from Therabody’s own product pages, the health guidance from its published precautions and peer-reviewed research. After the picks it covers the model differences, whether a Theragun is worth it, how to use one, who should check with a doctor first, and how FSA and HSA eligibility actually works.

TL;DR

Which Theragun to buy comes down to how hard you want it to hit. The Relief (10 mm stroke, 3 speeds) is the gentle, simple everyday model for most people. The Mini 3rd Gen (12 mm, 3 speeds, about 0.9 lb) is the travel and gym-bag pick. The Prime 6th Gen (16 mm, 5 speeds) is the one to buy for genuine deep-tissue work. If you just want strong percussion without the extras, a simpler gun from our massage gun roundup may be the smarter buy.

Best for Most

Theragun Relief

See price on Amazon

Best Travel

Theragun Mini 3rd Gen

See price on Amazon

Best Deep Tissue

Theragun Prime 6th Gen

See price on Amazon

Quick picks by need

How These Picks Were Chosen

Same rules as every page here: live-listing verification and a check for duplicate listings (Therabody sells identical models under multiple color ASINs — we card one per model). Specs on this page come from Therabody’s product pages and major retailer listings. We ranked within the lineup on the specs our massage gun roundup established — amplitude, stall force, noise, weight — and required each model to justify its slot against both its siblings and the wider massage gun market. Health framing follows our recovery guides: percussion helps how soreness feels; bigger claims stay unendorsed.

1. Best for Most: Theragun Relief (Therabody)

Theragun Relief (Therabody)

Theragun Relief (Therabody)

Therabody

  • The simplified, quieter entry Theragun
  • Triangle grip — the brand’s real ergonomic advantage
  • 3 speeds and a 10 mm stroke for daily-comfort use
  • Up to 120 minutes of battery; about 1.4 lb
See price on Amazon

Why we picked it: The Relief is Therabody admitting most buyers want less: three speeds, no app dependence, the signature triangle handle that reaches your own back without wrist contortion — which, honestly, is the brand’s most defensible advantage over other guns. Therabody calls it the gentlest level of its percussive therapy. Trade-offs: its 10 mm amplitude sits well below the Prime’s 16 mm — this is a comfort-and-circulation-feel device, not a deep-tissue tool — and buyers wanting data or app routines are shopping the wrong model.

2. Best Travel: Theragun Mini 3rd Gen (Therabody)

Theragun Mini 3rd Gen (Therabody)

Theragun Mini 3rd Gen (Therabody)

Therabody

  • Pocketable size with real percussion behind it
  • 12 mm stroke, 3 speeds, up to 150 minutes of battery
  • Gym-bag and travel native
See price on Amazon

Why we picked it: The Mini earns its place by size: third-generation revisions put a 12 mm stroke and three speeds (1,750, 2,100 and 2,400 percussions per minute, per Therabody) in a device of about 0.9 lb that disappears into a gym bag, which makes it the model that gets used daily rather than docked impressively. Trade-offs: small means small — a smaller head, less force behind it, and no pretense of deep-tissue amplitude; it is the always-with-you gun, and the Prime exists for the couch-side heavy work.

3. Best Deep Tissue: Theragun Prime 6th Gen (Therabody)

Theragun Prime 6th Gen (Therabody)

Theragun Prime 6th Gen (Therabody)

Therabody

  • The full 16 mm Theragun amplitude — the spec that defines the brand
  • 6th-gen quieting on the deep-tissue platform
  • 5 speeds and up to 120 minutes of battery
  • App routines for those who want structure
See price on Amazon

Why we picked it: Amplitude — how far the head travels per stroke — is the spec that separates real deep-tissue guns from buzzers, and the Prime carries Theragun’s full 16 mm into its core deep-tissue model, with five speeds, up to 120 minutes of battery and a 2 lb (32 oz) weight. Retailer listings rate it for up to 35 lb of applied pressure. This is the model for the trigger-point work our massage gun roundup’s buyers ask about. Trade-offs: it ships with two attachments where the Relief and Mini include three, and deep amplitude at full pressure is a strong sensation; start gentle, and keep our recovery guide’s health caveats in mind.

Side-by-Side Comparison

PickBrandModelBest forKey specSee price
Best for MostTherabodyReliefDaily comfort, most buyers10 mm, 3 speeds, quietCheck price
Best TravelTherabodyMini 3rd GenTravel, gym bags12 mm, 3 speeds, about 0.9 lbCheck price
Best Deep TissueTherabodyPrime 6th GenDeep-tissue work16 mm, 5 speedsCheck price

Theragun Models Compared: Specs Side by Side

Therabody does not publish every spec for every model in the same place, so this table sticks to the figures we could confirm on Therabody’s product pages and major retailer listings. Where a figure is not listed, the cell says so rather than guessing.

SpecTheragun ReliefTheragun Mini 3rd GenTheragun Prime 6th Gen
Amplitude (stroke depth)10 mm12 mm16 mm
Speeds33 (1,750 / 2,100 / 2,400 PPM)5
Battery (listed)Up to 120 minUp to 150 minUp to 120 min (at lowest speed)
WeightAbout 1.4 lbAbout 0.9 lb (0.40 kg)About 2 lb (32 oz)
ForceNot listedNot listedUp to 35 lb of pressure (retailer listing)
Attachments included332
App / BluetoothYes, optionalYes, optionalYes, optional
Best forGentle daily relief, beginnersTravel, gym bag, quick sessionsDeep tissue, larger muscles

The pattern is simple: amplitude climbs from Relief to Mini to Prime, and so does the intensity of the sensation. Battery and weight work the other way — the Mini is the lightest and lists the longest run time, because it is built for short, frequent sessions rather than long deep-tissue work.

Theragun Prime vs Relief

This is the most common Theragun decision, and it is mostly about depth. The Prime’s 16 mm stroke travels well over half again as far as the Relief’s 10 mm, so it reaches deeper into large muscles like the quads, glutes and hamstrings. The Relief is gentler and simpler, with three speeds against the Prime’s five.

Both share the triangle handle, and both list up to 120 minutes of battery. The Prime is the heavier device at about 2 lb.

Theragun Prime vs Mini

The Mini is not a small Prime. Its 12 mm stroke sits between the Relief and the Prime, and it gives up the triangle handle for a compact palm-held shape — easy to carry, harder to use on your own upper back. The Prime is the better primary device at home; the Mini is the better second device, or the only device for people who mainly want a quick pass on calves, forearms and shoulders after training or travel.

If you can only have one and you train hard, buy the Prime. If you will only use it if it is in your bag, buy the Mini — a gun that gets used beats one that stays docked.

Which Theragun Is Right for You?

If you are…GetWhy
New to massage gunsReliefGentlest stroke, simplest controls
Sensitive to pressure, or buying for an older adultRelief10 mm stroke, light, triangle grip reaches the back
Traveling or training away from homeMini 3rd GenAbout 0.9 lb, longest listed battery
A lifter, runner or field-sport athletePrime 6th Gen16 mm stroke for large muscle groups
Mostly treating your own back and trapsRelief or PrimeThe triangle handle matters more than any spec
Using it once a week or lessA simpler gunMost of the percussion without the extras

Theragun Types: The Rest of the Lineup

Theragun is Therabody’s massage gun brand, and the full lineup is wider than the three models carded here. Therabody’s site also lists higher-tier and variant models, including the Prime Plus, Pro, Pro Plus, Sense and Mini Plus. They sit above the Relief, Mini and Prime in price and add features rather than changing the core idea. For most home users, the three models carded here cover gentle, portable and deep-tissue use.

Buying Considerations

Amplitude is the deciding spec. Theragun’s 16 mm stroke (Prime) versus the shallower Relief and Mini is the real dividing line in the range — deeper stroke, deeper work, stronger sensation. Match the model to whether you want comfort passes or trigger-point pressure, not to the marketing tier.

The triangle handle is the underrated feature. Reaching your own traps and lower back with a straight-body gun is a wrist workout; the multi-grip triangle is Therabody’s genuine ergonomic edge and the thing other guns copy worst. If self-treatment of hard-to-reach spots is the use case, it weighs more than any spec.

The honest brand comparison. Our massage gun roundup’s picks deliver strong percussion too — a Theragun buys ergonomics, quietness, brand support and polish, not a different category of result. Buyers who just want percussion should read that roundup first; buyers who want the refinements now know what they are getting.

Weight and grip decide whether you reach your own back. A 2 lb device held at arm’s length for several minutes gets heavy. If you mainly treat yourself, try to picture the reach to your upper back: the triangle handle on the Relief and Prime is built for exactly that, while the Mini’s compact shape is easiest on legs and arms.

Battery numbers are best-case. Therabody lists the Prime’s battery at the lowest speed; higher speeds and firm pressure shorten it. For most people, a few short sessions a day is well within any of these models.

Same body, same rules. Percussion helps how soreness feels — the evidence for more than that stays thin, per our foam roller and muscle soreness guide. Avoid bones, joints, injuries and the front of the neck; anyone with clotting concerns, neuropathy or vascular conditions should ask a clinician before any percussion device. Nothing here is medical advice.

Who Should Skip a Theragun

Occasional users. If the gun will come out once a week after a long run, a simpler model from our best massage guns roundup covers it.

People who want whole-body, hands-off recovery. A massage gun is active work. A foam roller covers large areas faster, and compression boots work the legs while you sit still.

Anyone with a medical condition affecting circulation, nerves or bones. Talk to a doctor or physical therapist before using any percussion device, and never use one over an injury, a joint or the front of the neck.

Theragun Mini vs Prime vs Relief vs PRO Plus: What Therabody Lists

Therabody’s current product pages list these figures. Where a page does not state a spec, the cell says so.

Spec (per Therabody)ReliefMini 3rd GenPrime 6th GenPRO Plus
SpeedsNot listed3 (1,750 / 2,100 / 2,400 PPM)55
Battery120 min150 min120 min, tested at lowest speedAbout 150 min on average, varies by attachment
Weight1.37 lb0.40 kg (about 0.9 lb)32 oz (907 g)1,650 g (about 3.6 lb) without attachments
Attachments included3: Standard Ball, Dampener, Thumb3: Standard Ball, Dampener, Thumb2: Dampener, Standard Ball7, including heat and vibration attachments
ExtrasBluetooth app controlBluetooth app routinesBluetooth app; heated percussive therapy listedLCD screen, near-infrared LED light, heat, vibration, heart-rate sensor
Amplitude and forceNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Two things stand out. First, the Mini is the only model with published speed settings and the longest listed battery of the three core models, because it is built for short, frequent sessions. Second, the PRO Plus is not just a stronger Prime: it is about four times the Mini’s weight and adds features (heat, cold-attachment support, light therapy, a heart-rate sensor) rather than a different kind of percussion. The 10, 12 and 16 mm stroke figures quoted elsewhere on this page were drawn from earlier Therabody and retailer listings; Therabody’s current spec sections do not print them, so check the listing for the model you buy.

Is a Theragun Worth It?

Start with what any massage gun can do. Ferreira and colleagues’ 2023 systematic review in the Journal of Functional Morphology and Kinesiology pooled 11 studies and concluded that massage guns can improve short-term range of motion, flexibility and some recovery measures, such as stiffness after a fatiguing workout. It found no improvement, and sometimes a decrease, in strength, balance and explosive performance, and ten of the eleven studies carried a moderate risk of bias. No independent study compares Theragun with other brands on outcomes.

So the case for a Theragun rests on design and support, not a different physiological result:

If you will mainly treat your own back and use it most days, those features earn their place. If it will come out once a week for calves, our massage gun guide covers simpler options that do the same basic job.

How to Use a Theragun

  1. Match the attachment to the job. The Standard Ball is the all-round head for large muscles; the Dampener is the softer option for sensitive areas and first sessions; the Thumb (on the Mini and Relief) is for a specific spot in a thick muscle.
  2. Turn it on before contact, at the lowest speed, then rest it on the muscle.
  3. Glide, do not dig. Move slowly along the muscle with light pressure; on the Relief and Prime, switch grips on the triangle handle to reach your back instead of bending your wrist.
  4. Keep to a working time. The 2023 review above tentatively suggested about 2 minutes or less per muscle group for range of motion and longer, lower-frequency work for post-exercise recovery.
  5. Stay off the no-go areas in Therabody’s precautions: the face, throat and genitals, plus any skin with a rash, open wound, blister, inflammation, infection, bruise or tumor.

Therabody’s app routines are a decent way to learn placements in the first few weeks; after that, most people run the gun from its buttons.

Who Should Check With a Doctor Before Using a Theragun?

Therabody’s precautions page lists bleeding disorders and uncontrolled high blood pressure as contraindications for most of its devices, and treats numbness or neuropathy as a precaution because you may not feel when the intensity is too high. Pregnancy is listed as a precaution for its massage devices. If any of those apply, or you take blood thinners, get clearance before buying.

One more case: a swollen, warm or painful calf. Mayo Clinic notes that a deep vein thrombosis usually forms in the leg, can feel like soreness or cramping that starts in the calf, and can break loose and travel to the lungs. That is not a muscle to massage; it is a reason to call a doctor.

Is a Theragun FSA or HSA Eligible?

Some models can be bought with HSA or FSA funds, but eligibility is not automatic and depends on your plan. Here is what each source actually says.

In practice: a massage gun bought for general recovery is a general-health item. If a clinician recommends one to treat a specific diagnosed condition, a letter of medical necessity is what plan administrators typically want to see. Confirm with your FSA or HSA administrator before you buy, and keep the paperwork.

So Which One Should You Buy?

Most buyers entering the brand: the Theragun Relief. Simple, quiet, and the triangle grip where it counts.

Gym bags and travel: the Theragun Mini. Small enough to carry everywhere — and the one that gets used daily.

Deep-tissue intent: the Theragun Prime. The full amplitude the brand is famous for, at its entry point.

Ready to buy?

Jump straight to our picks on Amazon — check the current price at click-through.

FAQ

Which Theragun should I buy?

For most people, the Theragun Relief: a gentle 10 mm stroke, three speeds and the triangle handle. Buy the Mini 3rd Gen if portability matters most, and the Prime 6th Gen if you want deep-tissue work on large muscles with its 16 mm stroke and five speeds.

What is the difference between Theragun models?

Mainly amplitude, speeds, size and price. The Relief has a 10 mm stroke and three speeds, the Mini 3rd Gen a 12 mm stroke and three speeds in a palm-sized body, and the Prime 6th Gen a 16 mm stroke and five speeds. Higher-tier models such as the Pro Plus and Sense add features on top.

Theragun Prime vs Relief: which is better?

The Prime is better for deep-tissue work on large muscles, thanks to its 16 mm stroke and five speeds. The Relief is better for gentle everyday use and for people sensitive to strong percussion. Both use the triangle handle and list up to 120 minutes of battery.

Theragun Prime vs Mini: which should I get?

Get the Prime if it will be your main device at home and you train hard. Get the Mini if you want something light enough, about 0.9 lb, to carry every day. The Mini’s 12 mm stroke is shallower and it lacks the triangle handle, so it is harder to use on your own back.

Which Theragun is best for deep tissue?

Of the three models here, the Prime 6th Gen, with Theragun’s 16 mm stroke. Start on a low speed and light pressure; deep amplitude at full pressure is a strong sensation.

Is a Theragun worth it over a basic massage gun?

For raw percussion, often not — our massage gun roundup’s picks deliver strong percussion too. The Theragun case is ergonomics (the triangle grip), noise, support and polish. Buyers who treat their own back and traps daily feel the difference; occasional users mostly do not.

Which Theragun is quietest?

The Relief is the range’s quiet-by-design entry, and the 6th-gen Prime is much quieter than the brand’s early deep-tissue models. The Mini trades some acoustic refinement for size — still civilized, just smaller margins.

Do Theraguns require the app?

No. All three models connect to the Therabody app over Bluetooth for guided routines, but none needs it to run. Treat the app as optional: the buttons on the device run every speed.

How long should I use a massage gun on one spot?

Common practice is brief, moving passes — think 15 to 30 seconds per area at tolerable pressure, not minutes of grinding one point. Sharp pain, numbness or bruising means stop; persistent problems belong to a professional, per our recovery guide’s standing rule.

Is the Theragun Mini FSA eligible?

Therabody lists the Theragun Mini (3rd Gen) as HSA/FSA eligible through its Flex checkout, which can supply an itemized receipt and a letter of medical necessity. Your plan still decides. IRS rules count only expenses for diagnosis, treatment or prevention of disease, not general health, so check with your plan administrator before buying.

How much does the Theragun Prime weigh?

Therabody lists the Theragun Prime (6th Gen) at 32 oz, or 907 grams, with dimensions of 238 by 153 by 61 mm. That is a little over twice the Mini 3rd Gen, which Therabody lists at 0.40 kg, and noticeably heavier than the Relief at 1.37 lb. The extra weight is easier to manage with the triangle handle.

How long does the Theragun Mini battery last?

Therabody rates the Mini 3rd Gen at 150 minutes per charge, the longest of the Relief, Mini and Prime. As with other Theraguns, battery figures assume lighter use; Therabody footnotes the Prime’s 120-minute figure as tested at the lowest speed, so expect less at the top speed with firm pressure.

What does the Theragun PRO Plus add over the Prime?

Per Therabody’s product page, the PRO Plus adds seven included attachments, including heat and vibration heads, an LCD screen with guided routines, built-in near-infrared LED light, a heart-rate sensor and compatibility with a cold attachment. It weighs 1,650 grams without attachments. Its five speeds match the Prime.

Sources

How We Research

Picks are researched and written by Mike Callahan based on manufacturer specifications, current Amazon listings, and patterns across verified owner reviews — particularly the negative ones. We are not a testing lab and do not claim to be; our full standard is in the editorial policy. Specifications and included accessories vary by listing, so confirm current details at the retailer before buying.

Note: Therabody sells identical models under multiple color ASINs; listings were cross-checked to card one listing per model. No therapeutic claims are endorsed. Verified on the live listings August 6, 2026.

Top pickTheragun Relief

See price